Half The Sky Movement: The Game

It’s time for another project, this time humanitarian. We should never forget about souls less fortunate than us, we should never forget that we can bring happiness to someones tears.

This project got my attention since it has started in March because of the platform it uses. Facebook. I think that is brilliant. How many of us play or have played games on Facebook just for time-killing? I admit being addicted to several games, none at the moment since The Sims Social has closed. 😀 Now we can play game and EDUCATE ourselves and HELP. Like real, actual, help. Weather through donations which are given every time you complete a quest, or really just playing the game… The movement itself is very appealing to me, graphically and with its stories. I recommend everyone to start playing… You may like it and it means a world to someone who is getting your help through game sponsors.

1364503615545.cached

I feel like I didn’t express myself in the way i wanted so read part of the article from http://www.thedailybeast.com:

…authors Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn, authors of Half the Sky: Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide—and it will turn playing a game into an opportunity to donate money to nonprofit organizations around the world. That’s right. Half the Sky: The Game will match the virtual donations made by players into real-world donations to the Fistula Foundation, Girls & Education Mentoring Services, Heifer International, ONE, Room to Read, the United Nations Foundation, and World Vision, all nonprofit foundations.”

The main character is Indian woman named Radhika:

In the game, players follow an Indian woman named Radhika as she navigates some of the challenges faced by modern-day women. She starts out as a village woman trying to raise money for her ill daughter. But as the game progresses, Radhika travels the world and, in each location, is met with specific issues women and girls face in that location.

half-the-sky-gift-w724

I know this game won me over, even though I have to be honest – I haven’t played in a while. But I will. Pinky promise. 🙂

Support and share… ❤

Categories: Projects and initiatives | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Talk to me...

Blog at WordPress.com.

