What about Valentine’s Day?

What about Valentine's Day?

Ahh… Valentine’s Day…. Can you feel the love?? No? Me neither. 😀

It is the most confusing holiday by my opinion. When you’re single, you just straight up hate it. You diss about it and go on and on of how stupid it is. When you are in a relationship, it depends. I think Valentine’s Day puts a LOT of pressure on new couples… It feels like you just started dating and then one of you has a birthday and the other is just… What do I get? Do I buy anything at all? What does she/he even like? And so on… It is stupid for the other part too, trust me. I’m talking from my own experience. It makes it even harder that the Valentine’s Day is so UNORIGINAL that it hurts. It can be original if you want it to be, but we are bombarded with roses and flowers (Which btw. what? It’s still winter…) and teddy bears, and candy, and chocolate boxes… IT FEELS LIKE A LIFE IN A GIANT RED COMMERCIAL.

If you are in a long relationship or marriage, Valentine’s Day can be a nice reminder to stop and appreciate what you have and show affection for each other by spending some quality time together.

The sentence that caught my attention in this weeks Writing Challenge was:

“…It feels strange to be explicitly against a day celebrating love and commitment.”

That is true. We don’t like how it’s made into a PR form of “BUY=LOVE”. But how do we show attention and love for our loved ones? There are many ways, and some of them are buying them stuff that will make them happy. It’s a paradox.

Maybe we should just start thinking of a Valentine’s Day as a day in year when we show gratitude for having the people we love in our lives (partner, family, friends…) and show them that they mean something to us. That we love them. 🙂

DSC_0903

I didn’t want to write a letter to my bf because – and yes I do get like this – I am afraid that if I put our love on spotlight it will get shy and run. Hahahahah, I know it doesn’t make much sense, but I never felt like this and I don’t like to talk about it so I don’t jinx it. 😀

So, he did something amazing. I asked him to write something and he agreed! I was very surprised because he is a man of doing not talking and esspecially not writing. 😀 But he did it, and it is needless to say I was touched and happy. I love you. ❤

10 Things I Love About You:

1. I love the way you smile
2. I love the way you look at me
3. You respect my desicions
4. You’re always there for me
5. I love how we can talk for hours
6. I love the way u dance
7. I love how u get best out of me
8. I love how u tickle me 🙂
9. I love your lips
10. YOU’RE BEAUTIFUL

Categories: Column, Weekly writing challenge | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “What about Valentine’s Day?

  1. Pingback: Humans Are So Different on Valentine’s Day [HUMOUROUS LETTER] | Ramisa the Authoress

  2. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – My Funny Valentine | Joe's Musings

  3. Pingback: Cleaning Up On Valentines | The Chatter Blog

  4. Pingback: The 18th of February 1945 – Bastogne, Belgium | Forgotten Correspondance

  5. Awww that is so sweet of him. Cherish your moments with your loved ones. Happy Valentine’s Day Darling .. Have fun

  6. Cute post!

  7. Pingback: Ghost Forest | litadoolan

  8. Maybe u right.
    But i am in a relationship still.
    And i love to hate it so…
    i agry with u saying it is not original to start and love all at once just for that day.
    I do believe to love, we need to faight for love. Just like any other thing we want to achieve( it has the word eve insaide)
    from life.
    So i created a sentence for that day.
    “I love to hate u”,( i still do an act of love).
    Sometime we fight sometime we don’t.
    Love is not about geting something in return. Love stand alone so as we all.
    Happy valentine..
    i loved reading different point of view on love, thank u for sharing..

    • Thank you for your comment! Yes, it is hard to like Valentine’s Day because it seems so fake… Still, we have chocolate on sale these days, yaaay 😉

      Happy Valentine!

  9. Pingback: With A Tender Loving Kindness: A Love Story For Valentine’s Day | lovelyseasonscomeandgo

Talk to me...

Blog at WordPress.com.

