War in Croatia – I got provoked to write

I was in my happy place but then I stumbled upon the blog I will not provide more promotion since it already has much more than its quality, in my humble Croatian opinion.

Image

I am not a member of any party, the fact I can’t tell for sure for the writer of this blog. How can someone who lives in another part of the world find out the truth when what he/she is reading is biased opinion on the matter carefully put into a lot of actual facts? So that only a person who IS Croatian and has experienced, read, heard and learned about the War in Croatia that lasted from 1991-1995. can tell?

War is no fun. It is terrible, it leaves scars, it leaves devastations for years and years and years and the suffering continues through people who lost someone, through people who lost themselves. It is a matter that needs to be treated very carefully. Because of its high emotions I can honestly say that we can make a bits and pieces of it. WE CAN NOT MAKE A WHOLE PUZZLE BECAUSE EVERYONE HAS THEIR OWN TRUTH.

The blog itself devastated me so much for one reason. Not for the information provided, because, I say again, most of them are on spot. It devastated me because it treats Croatia and Croatians as victims. I refuse to be a victim. My friends, my family, my neighbours refuse to be called victims! Croatia did suffer because of Serbian aggression and that need to be written in the history, but people need to move on. They need to get on with their lives. They need to be happy. They need to see positivity. That must be provided.

And with constantly bringing up war it is just harder. It is not helping anyone. As in many countries in war right now, people need to heal as much as they need the peace. When the peace comes, what does it mean if there is NO PEACE INSIDE?

I needed to write this. I have been fighting this “informations” all my life. My close friend has a father who was in the front lines, my college colleague lost her father in war. My sisters godmother and now my godchild have been evicted from their home and their house was doomed to be burnt to the ground as the others, but thankfully the fire didn’t catch. We visited when they moved back years later and we were eating next to a huge black hole in the center of a house. My cousins were literary running from the grenades. I was lucky to be in the “safe” place so I had to run for shelter and listen to the sirens and bombarding “only” few times. My sister was so small that we had to bring her in warm blanket to shelter so she wouldn’t get cold and cry. I was there! I know what I’m talking about. I am living here, I feel on my skin every decision my government makes, I am shocked by the dimension of never-ending corruption and nepotism…

But I also see people around me have become smarter. They no longer “buy” what is being sold to them. I am so proud! Smart people, smart young people around me recognising the situation and building their lives as being themselves, not “the generation who was in the war”. That is harder for our parents, they know much more. But, they too are starting to let it go. There is a saying; “Don’t forget?” How could you possibly fucking forget it?!!

Healing is needed. No hate. I do not hate Serbian people. I dislike the ones that were the aggressor, as I do for any side in the world. I hate violence! Maybe if I lost someone in the war, I would feel differently. But I see my friends. I see people around me. No one needs to rub their wounds. The wounds need to heal.

Categories: Column | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “War in Croatia – I got provoked to write

  1. Hey Eva, I can relate with this on more levels than you can count. My country Pakistan is going through a lot as well and it hurts me deeply when people judge it without having full information about it. Even media, T.v or newpapers tell a one sided story that its all bombs and killing when its not. Yes there is a certain part of the country where it happens but its just that part. Its not the whole country. Its been depicted so badly by the media onto the world, its just sad.
    I can only hope that people from the world see the other side of this beautiful country as well.
    I love how you ended the post with those beautiful and thoughtful lines. You are right 🙂

    • So amazing that you understand this, I was not aware that you are from Pakistan but I am glad that now I know. 🙂 I have come across a blog writen by a lady who is not living here (obviously for a while) and she is presenting it as objective and accurate. I got angry! I live here, I know what is going on. As I said there and I don’t know if she will approve my latest comments, modern Croatia has many problems which are complex (some of them are a consequence of war of course). But it takes a historian to write about past, she is connecting people who are dead for more than 10 years and situations that happened before I was born with current events. That is completely misguided and the thing that got me to comment was other people’s comments from around the world saying “Wow we didn’t know that.”
      That got me.
      Her blog is a personal politic column and can not be considered as a historical source . Wikipedia can do a better job. She is not aware of the gap between what she thinks is going on here, and the reality I live. And I have heard many, many disinformations about my country, so I want to react when I see something like that.
      And the one thing that also bothered me is that she is name-calling the leading party and praising the party in opossition. I can’t think of her writing as being objective. Not for a second.
      p.s. When confronted with my different opinion she stated that I “must not want a democracy” and I come from “communist family” which is not only false but can portrate the kind of thing she thinks is the worst and uses as an insult.

      • Hmmmm, I hate it when people are so naive. I don’t know if they do it deliberately or not but it still hurts and portrays an absolute opposite picture of what’s actually happening in a certain area. Well I can only hope that women finds her senses and stop with the foolish stuff. Because whatever she’s saying gets heard and read and causes a strong impact on people’s mind. Its a sad reality how people can be so exploitive.
        I think you were absolutely right to react. If I saw somebody portraying my country in a wrong way I would have done the some thing. It was brave of you stand up for whats right and the truth 🙂

      • Thank you 🙂
        No, I don’t think she will change, I don’t think she thinks she’s doing anything wrong at all… But that was not my mission, I just wanted to put my comments out there, so people can read the reality from someone who is actually living here. I have dealt with a lot of close-minded people in my life, and it is just useless to get frustrated over them. I just wanted to point out that what she is writing is far from objective and in no way reflects state in Croatia. And I’m happy she aprroved my comments.

      • You did your part well. I hope it gets better for both of our countries 🙂

      • I agree… I was talking to a friend of mine who is more of an acquaintance and we agree that there is no use of being bitter and angry all the time about our current standard and no-jobs situation, but to rather use that to learn and make something on our own. Government will be and go, but our life is one. We should fill it with positivity 😀

      • Very right…Positive outlook always triumphs the bitterness ! 🙂

Talk to me...

Blog at WordPress.com.

