Goals.

IMG_0346

 

 

When I started to blog, I used to look blogs with many followers and views in awe… And a bit jealous, I admit. πŸ™‚ We have a saying here: “Who tellsΒ the truth, half is forgiven”.

I wasn’t neither then, or now, been impressed with Freshly Pressed. I rarely go there. Why? This indifference intrigues me, because it is a premise that when you write, you want to be read. But yet, I feel it is so fake. And have little to no desire of being Freshly Pressed. In my opinion, they could have done SO MUCH more with that page… Few things pop in my head as I type. They could have divided it into categories… They could make every post appear there when it gets published, as I have seen on different blogging sites. Even for a second, you are there with your new post and it gives variety, not just a spotlight to one blogger who will get a lot of traffic that day and a lot of Freshly impressed followers who won’t bother to come back. That page could be a fun page to go to, browse, or check out what is new… Instead of…well, what it is.

It is easy to be a critic. Well, of course. I would like to be a paidΒ one, thank you. πŸ™‚

Anyway, back to the topic.

I always stated (and still do) that my goal with this blog is to inspire. I’m not at the moment (A very long moment if you ask me – more than half-a-year moment) interested in pumping my numbers as I am in expressing myself. And making connections which mostly leave me highly humbled and happy. ❀

But, I also have a secret number in my head. The one I strive for. I want to have 1 000 followers and more than 10 000 page views. That was my “ONΒ TOP”Β (Weekly Photo Challenge). Up above and proudly observing. Since I made that wish I have realised that many followers does not equal to many comments and connections, support or exchange of ideas. Nope. I discovered that numbers can be just that – numbers. No real following behind them. So, even though I wish for more followers (who doesn’t) I think 1000 is maybe too much. What do you think?

On the other hand, as you can see to the right on my sidebar… We have come veeery close to 10 000 views and it amazes me… You, 250 of you… And readers who didn’t follow. You, so little in number compared to the “successful” bloggers… YOU HAVE MADE THIS. I will tomorrow, or even today cross my goal.

Thank you, you are so special to me. ❀

Categories: Weekly Photo Challenge | Tags: , , , , | 28 Comments

Post navigation

28 thoughts on “Goals.

  1. Congrats! Over 10,000 views! I’ve enjoyed following your blog so far, it’s been a fun ride so far and I like how you share so many things ranging from your country to other countries and everything in between. Like your photos a lot too.

    Totally agree – numbers are just numbers. I guess what matters the most – at least to me – is whether we have fun blogging and expressing ourselves. Positive energy is contagious and when a blog tends to have an upbeat feel to it, I reckon that’s what draws readers to it. I love that this is so with your blog, and I look forward to reading and commenting more πŸ™‚

    • Your comment brought smile to my face. And I am not feeling very well, I think that says it all. I was hoping to attract readers like you, but one never knows… πŸ™‚

      Thank you ❀

      • Aww, since you’re smiling now I’m smiling πŸ™‚ I’d much rather have a handful of dedicated, thoughtful readers rather than a lot of readers who say nasty things. But then again, I appreciate all of my readers, whether they agree or disagree with me.

        You have a great loyal following already. Keep up the good work πŸ™‚

      • Me too… I would much rather have a supporting community than thousands of followers. Thank you for all of yours positive comments πŸ™‚

  2. well, dang, way kewl, I agreee wit ya bout da’ fressly pressed thingy, i do not use, i like ur idea of all the pages on thier werld coming up with catagories etc etc an tags etc etc ..like one big pain page that featured people as they cvome and go, think we should e-mail the wr-guys bout that huh, would be great for them to do, seeing this photo makes me want to go out and jump off the cliff right now and go fly fly fly…alwsys enlightens me day when i see other pilots at play! kewl shot also . of moonster an all in background…..laters ivy, splendid day 2 U frum Q πŸ™‚

  3. You’re going to make those goals. πŸ™‚
    And probably sooner than you think.
    Keep up the good work πŸ™‚

  4. Your doing well ivy and you have a great attitude! It’s all about quality over quantity and how can one converse with thousands of people you would go insane lol!

    I think your right about fp too they should do something better they just updated the daily post why not freshly pressed? X

    • I agree with you on everything… It is crazy, I can’t answer 20 people, imagine 500?! O_o I don’t think I want that, it would be like a ful time job with no paycheck XD

      And yes,… Updating is needed. Maybe they will? Who knows?

      • who knows indeed and when you mention chatting to 20 people on our wp blog, what about social media, are you on there too? I am doing this WP 201 challenge and its telling us to link up to two social media sites. I have photo ones, but I have no time to be commenting/chatting on them LOL…what do you do?

      • Indeed! Ain’t nobody got time fo that! πŸ˜‰
        Nooo… I don’t link my blog to nowhere, I share it from time to time on FB but that is it. I think I posted once on Twitter about it, but I don’t use Twitter so… πŸ™‚ I think that is for “striving” bloggers. I’m happy with my situation here on WP.

      • I dont understand twitter

      • Hahahahaha well… I don’t get it very well myself, but I manage. I like that I can follow people that I would normally had no way of “knowing” what they do and what are they working on, how they live… Celebrities that I like.

      • true πŸ˜€

      • I feel really old when i look at twitter lol

      • Hahahahaha XD

  5. stevendavisuk

    Very well said and I like your blog πŸ™‚ good luck with the goals and you have a new follower in me πŸ™‚ keep winning. Steve

    • Thank you so much for visiting….and following. πŸ™‚ Make yourself at home and surf those WordPress waves… And.. well, whatever one does on a blog.
      I am tired.

  6. Lydia Devadason

    Everything you say in your post is so true! And then I look at all the comments and they’re wonderful too, and all from people I know and love within this blogging community. You gotta love it ❀ – see what I did there?

  7. There is something to be said over quality, rather than quantity (I’m thinking “Chocolate” πŸ˜‰ ). What’s in the numbers? I didn’t really get it when I started – and wasn’t really looking at followers – but was interested mainly in feedback on my photos. Now, while admitting to checking the stats, I am drawn to my Reader Feed and like to see who is posting what within my “community”. You have made yourself this by being you, a ⭐ πŸ™‚

    • That is so kind of you to say, thank you πŸ™‚
      I am ashamed I haven’t checked your photography yet but that will be quickly set right. πŸ˜‰
      It is overwhelming and I can’t possibly read every post I want to, but yes you are right, the Reader helps a lot. πŸ˜€

  8. Well said. I always have a little from when I see that someone else has started to follow me, but it’s the likes and comments that thrill me more. As the Vanilla Housewife rightly says, it’s to do with community. People knowing that they like what you’re saying and have something to add.
    As for Freshly Pressed, I’d be over the moon to see a post of mine there, but I’m not an ADHD-suffering trans-gendered cancer survivor who understands the political movements of the world in a way that can be related to How I Met Your Mother, so I’m not holding my breath. πŸ˜‰

  9. Amen. I realized that followers do not equate to readership. What I like about blogging is the community. Once you find your tribe, you will have a number of people who will inspire you to write. πŸ˜‰
    I’m glad to be a part of that 250 now. πŸ™‚

    • That makes me very happy. πŸ˜€
      Yes, I once wanted to give an award to a great blogger, but you know how those rules go – and it was a rule that only bloggers with less than 1000 followers can be awarded. And she said to me that she doesn’t feel like that many people is following her at all, that they are only numbers. That has stayed with me in thinking about that topic.
      I am finding my tribe, ou yeah… 😎

  10. alienorajt

    Oh, very well said, Ivy; I think you have made some excellent points, both about Fresh Pressed and about numbers. xxx

    • Thank you Alienora, we agree as almost always. πŸ™‚
      That is my opinion and I stand by it, I have seen a better use of similar pages on Croatian blog sites…

Talk to me...

Blog at WordPress.com.

