Say something…

I am singing this song in my head – pretty good if I can add, and I want to share it for a while know here.

It seems that everything finds its place and time in this blogo-journey of mine.

“Say something, I’m giving up on you
I’m sorry that I couldn’t get to you
Anywhere I would’ve followed you
Say something, I’m giving up on you

And I will swallow my pride
You’re the one that I love
And I’m saying goodbye…”

I love the song, the lyrics and the amaaaazing performance of Alex and Sierra, but for the world of me, I don’t get the last bit.

He/She is swallowing his/hers pride and saying goodbye? Shouldn’t saying goodbye stand for making a decision instead of bowing down?

I believe in forgive but I don’t believe in forget. I can never forget some things that happened to me, people can’t forget – and it would be wrong! Those are the things that defined them. Bad things, like good, define us. Our attitude. What would happen if I woke up tomorrow not remembering what made me to think like I think, to do stuff I do? It would be a trauma, an amnesia.

I believe in forgive because no one feels your hate and grudge but you, and that feeling is poison inside. So, yes, forgive because of yourself. Forget if you can.

This is a part of Daily Prompt: I Can’t Stay Mad at You

JgSFYjdGt483hx_DDTtTGDl72eJkfbmt4t8yenImKBVaiQDB_Rd1H6kmuBWtceBJ

Categories: Column, Daily Prompt, Video | Tags: , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Say something…

  1. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: I Can’t Stay Mad at You | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  2. As I am reading I am recalling my favorite movie ” 50 first dates” interesting if each one of ours memory lasts for 10 seconds then there would be no forgiving and forgetting….

  3. alienorajt

    This is lovely, Ivy – and the Maya Angelou quote says it all, in my view. Her words are so often wise and exactly what one needs to hear at a particular time. xxx

    • I’m happy you enjoyed 🙂 I saw it somewhere before and it stuck in my mind but I didn’t know who said it. Now I do.

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I can’t Stay Mad At You, but there are always Exception to the Rule | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Talk to me...

Blog at WordPress.com.

