Sunday Lunch in Croatia

Sunday Lunch in Croatia

Obviously, I didn’t make this. πŸ˜€

I mean, I could… But my mum is the one that makes lunches in Saturday and Sunday.

Today is The Mother’s Day, so I want to recognise what she does to us. πŸ™‚ It’s not just food, she is there for me and that means a lot, specially when our relationship in the last 10 years rose from ashes, being a zero and a no-no to a quality relationship where I can really talk to her and get her support. πŸ™‚

Lunch is the most important meal here, and don’t worry, I will post what is all of that in the photo, and the recipe for the meat in puff pastry for Fiesta Friday’s this week.

p.s. I made the salad. πŸ˜€

Happy Mother’s Day to all Mothers!

________________________________________________________________________________________

Update

Recipes for Angie at The Novice Gardener for her Fiesta Friday 15#. πŸ™‚

Meat in puff pastry

IMG_0358

MEAT IN PUFF PASTRY

  • Servings: 8-10
  • Time: 2 hours
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

IMG_0358

Ingredients:

750 grams of mixed meat (this is pork meat)

mix of spices in powder – we have Vegeta here

red pepper in powder

garlic – here in powder

puff pastry

olive oil

Preparation:

Put the mixed meat, 1 spoon of mix of spices in powder, a little bit of red pepper in powder and a little bit of garlic powder. Mix together with hands very good. When it is compact, put the previously bought finished puff pastry on the table (Making your own puff pastry takes too long). Put the meat on top and in the form of roller and then start rolling pastry on top and beneath until you have covered everything.

Put the olive oil in the dish large enough so it all fits. Put in the oven preheated to 175 C and cook for an hour and 15 min.

That’s it! Enjoy and Dobar tek! πŸ™‚


Tomato soup

IMG_0361

TOMATO SOUP

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 30 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

IMG_0361

Ingredients:Β 

250 mili Liters of tomato puree (250 mL)

Oil, flour

1 spoon of mixed spices in powder

Noodles

Preparation:

Mix together a little bit of oil and flour and fry it in the pan on the light flame. Then add cold water (how much you add, that much servings you’ll have) with the mix in a pot and let it boil. When it starts boiling, add the spices in powder and tomato puree and let it boil again. When it boils put in the noodles for two or three more minutes and your soup is done. πŸ™‚

Dobar tek!


Categories: Food | Tags: , , , , , | 36 Comments

Post navigation

36 thoughts on “Sunday Lunch in Croatia

  1. Moms are really amazing, Ivyon – the caring, the love, the foods… well, I could not enumerate everything! My mom (when she was alive), she makes most of the foods during parties and weekends. Uhm, I always make some, too – the easy ones, of course. πŸ˜€

    Now, back to the food – the puff pastry makes the dish crunchy which sounds really good to me. The soup also looks good with the soup, and the salad, too! What a perfect lunch you had.

    PS: Happy belated birthday to your Mom. ❀

    • I meant, BELATED HAPPY MOTHER’s DAY! Feeling hungry now, sorry! Hahaha πŸ˜€

      • Ahahahaha, and I just replied to your first comment

        That’s ok, no one is getting sued…. for now. πŸ˜€

      • Yeah! But that’s ok. June is coming, so let me say advance happy birthday to your Mom instead. πŸ˜€

      • Thanks! πŸ˜€

    • Thank you so much for thoguhtful comment πŸ™‚
      Yeah, she huged me when she read what I wrote about her, she was touched. She practices her English with reading my blog. πŸ™‚

      Thank you, but her B Day is in June, this was for Mother’s Day which was on Sunday. I have seen that Mother’s Day is celebrated on a different date in USA… Thank you for the wishes though πŸ™‚

  2. Looks delicious – I like to work with puff pastry and I make Beef Wellington with a Madeira Sauce which is very good πŸ™‚

  3. Hello Ivyon – thank you so much for bringing this to Angie’s Fiesta Friday! It looks absolutely delicious and perfect for lunch! Do tell you mum how well her meal has gone down! Enjoy the fiesta and thanks again!

    • Hehehe, thank you! I will let her read the comments πŸ™‚
      I have made the dessert, but I’ll leave that for next Friday πŸ˜‰

  4. tempting food. Hope you had fun on Mother’s day darling:)

  5. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #15 | The Novice Gardener

  6. Can you ask your mom if I can come over for lunch next time?? What a delicious meal!!

  7. looks health hehe

    • Haha, is that irony? I can’t tell XD

      • She means it looks delicious, for a carnivore. Lol. Therefore, it looks delicious to me! πŸ™‚

      • Now I really don’t know if that is a compliment. πŸ˜‰ I know, I do not have amazing entries like other bloggers who experiment with food I didn’t even heard of and more often, the one I haven’t tried… But it’s what I have to offer. πŸ™‚

      • Ivy, it looks delicious, hon! To show you how serious I am, I will make it and post it! Justine and I are always joking around with each other. Some of the things we say to each other are pretty out there for people to understand. But there was no slight intended, okay?

      • That sounds awesome, but you really don’t have to do it! I am always joking too, but I am serious about other entries… They intimidate me and at the same time challege me, that is true. πŸ™‚

        I woudn’t put a smiley behind it if I tought you were offending me in some way. πŸ™‚

      • Oh, good! So, another one in the mix. It’s always fun to have someone you can joke around with. πŸ™‚

      • Every day. Except this day. And maybe another. πŸ˜‰

        I wish I can transfeer my Croatian sarcasm into English on this blog but it just doesn’t fit πŸ˜€

      • Give it a try. I love to learn a few Croatian phrases. I enjoy shocking people by uttering words in their native tongue when they least expect it.

      • Ahahahah that is…. cruel? πŸ˜€ I would love to know how to swear in Spanish, it sound so sexy and fierce xd

        Ahhh that is not the same, the tone, the tone is missing… But I did write about Croatian curs words… Why did I wrote about that? I have no idea… I think I even wrote about it two times. XD

        It is Jebote for Fuck wow, Fuck yes, Fuck no and other interpretation and Jebiga for Fuck or Fuck it…Those are my most used

      • Jebote sounds a lot more polite than the eff word. I’ll start using it.

        About my cruel joke on people, one time there was a group of ladies speaking a language I didn’t recognize and I inched closer to them and pretended to listen, and started nodding. One of them noticed me and motioned to the others to stop talking. Hahaha…

      • Hahahahaha you sound like my kind of silly people πŸ˜€

        Yeah it’s the same for us non-English speakers, we don’t have to say “the f word” because Fuck you doesn’t sound bad at all and we use it all the time haha πŸ™‚

        Yeah we have so many imaginative curses….. You don’t even know. I don’t know who came up with them but the whole region is using it (BiH, Serbia, Montenegro, Croatia). If only people were so imaginative with other stuff….

        I can tell you: Ε ta te briga, that’s What do you care?
        or Tako je – meaning That’s right! You can search the pronounciation on google, I think Ε‘,č,Δ‡,Δ‘,ΕΎ makes you guys twitch a little haha, but it’s the same with your q,w and y, we have to learn them since they are not in our alphabeth.

  8. alienorajt

    Looks absolutely luscious, Ivy. xxx

    • Thanks… πŸ™‚ I told my mum she is going on blog, she will be happy when she sees the comments. πŸ™‚

Talk to me...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

