Horror movie called… The Waiting

I was never in an airport to go somewhere.

Ok, scratch that. I was once in an airport going on a plane – on my school trip in seventh grade (13 years old).

So, yap, I was in a plane. I rode that shit.

I even looked at the clouds and got a shitty meal.

Yes, that fancy.

Waiting is a horror story without the music. Maybe sometimes there is music. Like in a dentist office, to cover the sounds of the horror going on in the next room. But it can’t. it never can’t. You still hear the bzzzzzzz and BBBBBBBBBZZZ and all sorts of sounds you just don’t wanna experience at all. Dentists are not scary at all, but we’re all afraid of them. Screw clowns, they should make a crazy dentist costume for Halloween. Everyone would be scared.

Image

 

Waiting always seems thousand years longer. The mental difference between the person waiting and the person who is late is huuuuuuuge. The person who is late experiences minutes. The person waiting experiences life-questioning scenarios. What am I doing with my life? Was this the right job for me? How long can I wait before I start feeling anxious? Ok, five seconds. Noted.

And it’s most of the time like that. That’s why we look like morons when we wait. You look normal… Walking. Passing people. Walking. Going on stairs. Looking at the watch. Coming to THE SPOT. Realising that you’re gonna have to wait. Puf! You turn into an awkward monkey. Looking over people, looking around, not knowing what to do with your hands. You try to find a place to sit and there is none. Never. So you stand awkwardly. Or lean against the wall only realising how dirty it must be minutes after. And you wear a white t-shirt. Of course you do. And you pull out your mobile phone. Duuh! Something to make you look less weird and in anticipation. Yeaaaaah…. The phoneeee… But there is no games that interest you at that moment. So, you text the person who you are waiting. “Where are you? I’m here.” And they reply, I’m there in five minutes. And you know that’s not true. It’s the same text you send people when you’re stuck in a public transportation behind a tractor. You know! But… In a desperate attempt, you believe that. You look at the clock and start counting minutes. You actually forget that there is life… No waiting life. It is just you and that clock in that moment. Finally time passes. Your impatience is starting to kick on your nervous system and now you’re trying to talk to someone to ease the pressure. Hell, you know very well what the time is, so you start telling people you hear are asking.. “25! Four and 25!” And they look at you with a weird thank you. You are now on the edge.

Image

And still.

And still on the edge.

One thought before a second, angry message.

But, they arrive. And after the opening angry sentence and their apologies, you start walking and behaving like human again.

And the life continues.

🙂

 

This was stream of my thoughts. For the record, I have no idea what I would do in an airport if I had to wait. I would be to excited or nervous to sleep. I would probably make friends and chat about random stuff. I suppose that is not smart thing to do.

Categories: Column, Daily Prompt | Tags: , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Horror movie called… The Waiting

  1. Smart phones have made waiting in airports a lot easier. But oh, how the time draaaags…

    • I wouldn’t know 😀 But I can guess… It is so much different when you have to wait and when you are the one which plan is happening on time, right? We rarely notice people who have to wait if we don’t. 🙂

  2. Here is a must have list to entertain yourself while waiting. I always have my MP3 player on hand to play music to entertain myself while waiting. If I get stuck in the same thing as with the phone i.e. not being interesting in anything at that time I play a game… I try and find songs that create a soundtrack for what I see going on around me. It’s fun… try it sometime 🙂

    • Hahahah I love the soundtrack thing 🙂
      I used to listen to music too, but I prefer to meet someone in the area that is not crowded, since I get irritated by the lot of people passing by and can’t get into my “zone of waiting” 😀

      • Hahaha I love that you have a “zone of waiting” I have never thought of that. The music always works well for me.

      • Yeah, I get in da zoneeee 😀 This is like I know I am going to wait but don’t want to get nervous, for e. in a doctors waiting room. So, I kind of meditate 🙂

Talk to me...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

