What defines you?

What defines you?

Your hard times, or your good times?

Your parents, or your surroundings?

Your friends, or your enemies (people who did you wrong)?

Your failures, or your successes?

How many times you’ve been slapped by life, or lifted up?

Your pains or your blessings?

Your religion? Your skin color?

All of the above?

Or none?

….

“Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple.” Dr. Seuss

….

1374910_310025005807458_728469382_n

 

 

Categories: Column | 19 Comments

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “What defines you?

  1. Pingback: Voyage Through Time | A Writer at Heart

  2. Intriguing question. I find that when I read your question, movie and novel quotes immediately started popping into my head. “So do all those who live to see such times, but that is not for them to decide. All you’ll have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to you.” “It’s not who you are on the inside, but what you do that defines you.” And a dozen or so others.

    So now I’m wondering if fiction, in all of its various forms, has played a bigger role in ‘defining’ me than I previously thought. I don’t know if that’s a good thing or bad, lol. But that’s okay, because I really like who I am. Maybe that right there is what truly defines me πŸ™‚

    Awesome post, Ivyon!

    • I like that my writing and sharing inspires you and spiral you thoughts further πŸ˜€
      It is so hard to put my finger on what defines me and what defines a human being… When I think of myself I have many labels in my hand…Daughter, Sister, Cousin, Student, Woman… And then a lot of others; tall, brown hair, brown eyes, wearing glasses, left-handed… And then my personality… And then my experiences and stuff I’ve been through… My family. My friends. My boyfriend. The country I live in, I was born in… And so on and so on… But, when I strip it all out, me is actually bones and flesh and organs and blood… Star material. (I mean real star, not celebrities haha) And spirit, my soul…
      Yeah, I think I could go on this question on and on…. πŸ˜€

      • Wasn’t it Carl Sagan who said “We are made of starstuff”? When you think about it in that context, it is simultaneously humbling and incredible πŸ™‚

      • Absolutely! I have used that in one of my posts, it is so amazing! πŸ™‚ Literary every element that is in stars is in us… πŸ™‚

  3. Love the Dr. Seuss quote and this post! πŸ™‚

  4. Interesting question. What defines me…is….everything I do. Everything I say. Every decision that I make. The company I keep – others around me. In short, life and the world defines me πŸ™‚

    • Very well thought comment. πŸ™‚
      I agree… I think everything defines me, but in the end, nothing. Nothing can define the essence of my being, my spirit, the light that is me. πŸ™‚

      • Whoa, whoa, whoa, Ivy. Nothing defines you. That is a very deep thought, and I love it! πŸ˜€ Our light, is us. You say it best πŸ™‚

      • I was thinking of that when I wrote it πŸ™‚ I’m glad you like it πŸ˜€

  5. All and none?
    This is a question you can’t get an answer of.
    Like the simplicity of the post, and the quote

    • Thank you, I made a draft few days ago in my mobile, but wanted to include a photo so I waited to make a proper post. πŸ™‚ It is maybe a paradox. All and none.. πŸ™‚

  6. christinajavete

    I also love the quote! =) I think my family helped define who I was, as well as my friendships and of course both my successes and failures. ❀

    • If that is the case, I congratulate them because you are so positive and supporting! ❀ πŸ™‚

      • christinajavete

        AW, thank you!!!! ❀ ❀ =) I'll let them know that! hehe

      • You sure do! πŸ˜€ (But I think you already do, knowing you from here πŸ˜‰ )

  7. I really like the quote by Dr. Seuss, great questions to ponder πŸ™‚

    • I got all philosophical and stuff πŸ˜‰ After all, when one is away from blog for a week, pondering happens haha πŸ™‚

      Yeah, I have bunch of quotes I like in a little notebook… πŸ™‚

Talk to me...

Blog at WordPress.com.

