A little bit of Croatian music…

My blogger friend Mara inspired me for doing this. I had an idea in my mind to share with you some Croatian songs for a while now, and I knew that I will do this regularly, but she inspired me to do it today. πŸ™‚

I hope you will like this idea… For me, music is universal and although I mostly listen to foreign singers, I have tons and tons of songs in Croatian that I grew up with and that I love… They are 99% older songs, because today’s scene really doesn’t interest me. They are trying to be “mainstream” and mostly go one of two ways; first trying to please English-based audience they write songs in English and imitate the West, or they try to please equivalent of country music in Balkan and go more east (imitating Serbian singers)

I can’t find myself in either of this categories, so when I listen to Croatian music, I listen to… You can say oldies. πŸ™‚

This is a song called “Flags” from Parni Valjak, a group that I listened to a lot when about 14/15 years old. The lyrics are beautiful, so if anyone is interested I can translate them the best I can.

For now, the chorus:

My flags are always the same color

On them the love is ruling

My flags.. Never on half spear

Love is not giving up

 

This songs is called “Tempera” like paint. From Gibonni… Both songs are Croatian classics and everyone knows them. πŸ™‚

Categories: Video | Tags: , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “A little bit of Croatian music…

  1. The first one! Yes please πŸ™‚ But, I hardly understand a word here or there, it’s just guesswork — I expected to understand more!

    • Hehe πŸ˜€

      You can always type Parni Valjak in YouTube and enjoy… I had in mind to do an introduction for every one of them but ahhhhh, so much job πŸ˜‰
      I really love their songs: Sve joΕ‘ miriΕ‘e na nju, Moja je pjesma lagana, Ugasi me, Jesen u meni, Ljubavna ❀ … There are a LOT πŸ™‚

      I will happily translate any you want because they are/were lyrically awesome.

      U ljubav vjerujem wakes up in me so much good memories πŸ˜€

  2. Enjoyed the music this AM

Talk to me...

Blog at WordPress.com.

