Being valuated for your writing or bringing pleasure to many?

First thing I thought was, difficult choice.

Which was funny because I saw at least three post titled Easy Choice. 🙂

I love to watch documentaries, specially the ones that have something to do with space, animals and history. And there are few people in each area that made so much difference that we literally couldn’t live without their contribution to modern world as we know it. Today I watched a documentary about observing stars and comets and the way they move in relation to our planet. From ancient civilizations to 17. century. Specifically, month of August in 1684. in London Cambridge. The meeting so important we know about it 330 years later! Edmond Halley went to find a man who was known as a man with hard temper who was living alone, staying away from people. Isaac Newton. The thing Halley wanted from Newton was mathematical calculation of the way planets orbit our Sun in Solar system and he couldn’t find anyone who would make something like that. Newton said that he already made that calculation (!!!) but couldn’t find it, so he will do it again and send it by mail to Halley. Halley was skeptical but in few days a letter arrived. And in it… A clear mathematical explanation of force previously noted but not explained – GRAVITY.

What an amazing moment that was!

Scene from documentary

Scene from documentary; Halley on the left when he came to see Newton on the right

I hated math, trust me… But even I know calculation for gravity (some of it) from physics… To think that Isaac was/is so important that children all over the world study by his calculations and scientist go from his basics to study more and to expand our knowledge of universe….. That is mind-blowing!!! He made a base for our space exploration and missions in space. Right now above us, there is International Space Station with scientists and astronomers on board making experiments about how things behave in space and similar….

Later, Halley was the one that published (at his expense) Isaac Newton’s book, a bible for scientists all over the world;  Philosophiæ Naturalis Principia Mathematica

You also probably know Halley, he did amazing work also in area of astronomy, but we all know him by Halley’s comet – Because he found out that the comets that were passing by and being written about in many cultures, going from 3000 years before new era, was actually ONE comet coming back in time difference of 76 years. Wow! There were other comets also, but this discovery shook everything people knew about astronomy, gravity, Solar system at the time…

I thought that we saw Halley’s comet because i remember I was looking at one when I was a kid, but today I found out that was not Halley’s. This one is coming back in 2066. Yay!! I can hope… 😉

So, you see with how much awe and excitement I am writing about people who lived 4 centuries ago and books with math equations and I am not even loving math!! Imagine what does this mean to everyone who is in the field of math, physics, astronomy…really, any science… 

On the other side is the now.

People who write books want to sell them. Want to make a living out of them. Want to buy a house with money they get. Halley and Newton didn’t have luxuries, sometimes they didn’t even have a paycheck. But they sure did have passion.

I would love to reach out to people. Now. To talk to them, to change something. To inspire. To live. So, this question is so difficult to me and as usual, I will make my own answer.

“I am reaching out to many people about something important.”

How about that scenario? 😉

Categories: Column, Daily Prompt | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Being valuated for your writing or bringing pleasure to many?

  1. Pingback: Divergent Series . . . Better Not! | TyroCharm

  2. I think that’s a great perspective!!

  3. I think your point of view is awesome. I love the fact that we continue to be inspired by great minds. Impassioned thinkers and dreamers. (When did money come into it?) Thanks for a lovely post, and thoughts for the day. :o)

    • Thank you, I was really inspired by what I saw yesterday. 🙂

      Yeah, money is a necessity… Unfortunately. Until we found out how to trade for food and home with something else 😀
      Also, I first read your name generosa, like generous. 🙂

      • Generosa–I like the sound of that. Actually I chose genusrosa just because I love roses so much. 🙂 Your idea of trading necessary commodoties for other necessary goods and services is a great one–the barter system, as they called it, has worked well for many cultures of the past!

      • It sure did, right? But if we made soup a currency, suddenly everyone will do a lot of stuff to get some soup. I wanted to put it that way to emphasize how ridiculous that sounds 😀
        We humans tend to find a way to be obsessed with power and having a lot of material stuff…

        I’m glad you like it, yeah, when I read it it made more sense 🙂 I love roses as well, maybe that’s cheesy but I do. In fact I take photos of them quite often so if you find yourself interested I can show you some of it which is on my blog. 🙂

Talk to me...

Blog at WordPress.com.

