I dare to dream big!

My childhood friend got married. Not ground breaking news? Let me elaborate…

I had three close childhood friends that I remember vividly outside kindergarten and school… When I was teeny tiny I had two, lets call them A1 and A2, because of their names, which start with A.🙂

We played hide and seek, learn how to ride bikes and climb trees, tease other boys in the street and let them tease us, play any kind of game with ball and dolls, have picnics, play word games and talk all the way until the street lights went on and it was time to go home. We were a trio and we even had our cats to match which we named but sorta forgot about them so poor cats had to figure out the world without three girls chasing them. Then we start school which was a ground breaking point for our trio because one A was a year younger from other A and me, that meant our world were completely different now. Also, I got a sister which turned my life around, and when I started school, my sister started to talk. That’s a trouble. And more so, she was easier to handle so my mum will “give her” to me to take care of her. You know how hard it is to play AND take care of your little sister? Of course you do.🙂 That was a turbulent time and our friendship didn’t pass the test. I have found another childhood friend who was between me and my sister in age so she could play with both of us. That was a beginning of another trio that lasted up until I got super old and serious and turned 12. And then 13. No way I could hang out with younger than me, I was a TEENAGER.

aG9QVQ0_460s_v1

But, friendship between me and A1 still continued, even though not as strong as before. Now it was about real stuff, saying hi in the school hallway, chatting when we would meet in the street, catching up about our lives… So many topics were to be covered.😉 And then we finished elementary school, we were super big now. Now we hung out almost like adults, talking about boys and our future… Busy schedule divided us but we sure did catch up from time to time. Last time we were chatting I think we were 15 or 16 years old. Talking about high school and stuff… You know… Cool stuff. We were both straight A students with honors so there were not so much partying involved in our conversations, one more reason we got each other. And then I moved from there.

Years passed by. Facebook happened. I had to open Facebook to get extra credit at online media at college. And I got hooked, like everyone else. I knew that she had a boyfriend and left to USA, I have no idea how I knew that. And one day, we befriended on Facebook. It was of course nothing like our childhood friendship, but that is how life works. That doesn’t mean I don’t cherish it. She went on a college for an astrophysicist in California, which even now as I write it sounds like a movie to me.

My childhood friend got married. To a boy she went to USA with. She is living there now. Her wedding cake was an observatory similar to this one;

Palomar1-300x199

She is an astrophysicist. My gummi-gummi partner and hopscotch rival. Isn’t that crazy? And amazing?

I am happy for her but I can’t help but wonder how much lives can go apart. We are taught not to dream big. After high school you can choose, either work or go to college. We started from the same street and look at us now. I don’t feel accomplished compared to her. Actually, I have a feeling like I am just starting my life. Like I have woken up from the Matrix they told me my life should be and now I am making my own life and getting rid of the things that hold me back. No one told me to dream big, I locked myself in my own mental boundaries. I can see that now. I find her to be successful. Maybe she is not. But the mere fact she dared to dream and conquer her fear of unknown and worked hard for it got my full respect.

aAYD1q9_460s

Also, I know me now better than ever before. I know when I go after/into something I dive in. I am learning not to force it, not to push it. Patience is a virtue hard to treasure when you want something so badly. What I have learned is that nothing I forced to happen doesn’t make me happy. It makes me happy for that second I accomplish it. It doesn’t make me proud of me. With patience when stuff happen, I am proud. I am happy. I am fulfilled. No one tells you that patience and loving yourself is important. If you’re lucky they do, but no one can teach you how to achieve that. That is a path you walk alone. Good thing you have me at the same path so we can chat while we walk.🙂

10386286_10203303375918051_1709094329729875296_n

What is successful to you?

Having a job? A boyfriend/girlfriend? A spouse, kids? Chasing your dream? Daring to dream big?

Categories: Column | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “I dare to dream big!

  1. I believe that success is never giving up on yourself. There will always be someone who has ‘more’ in life, if you want to call it that. Someone who has found love before you, who is making more money than you, who is more distinguished in some way or another. But you know what? What others have done doesn’t matter so much.

    What matters is that you don’t give up on yourself. You never stop trying to be better for yourself, not for others.

    I love where you say “I know me better than ever before,” I believe that means that you are, in fact, a very successful person in life🙂

    • Thanks for your thoughtful comment… I agree. When I think like that I ask myself; “Do I want to trade places with that person, taking not only what I see is good, but bad and everything in between?” And the answer is always no.🙂

      I think we all have that kind of thoughts but it’s just how we deal with them and how much we accept ourselves that makes a difference… Thank you on the last sentence, it got my spirit high🙂

  2. My patience levels recently have been zero. Have you ever noticed that the more stressed your current situation the smaller amount of patience you have? There is a direct correlation I am telling you!
    There is also a relationship between your patience levels and being sick. If I am sick and people try my patience I don’t even get mad, I just don’t have enough energy to deal with it so I literally just wander away hahaha.

    • Of course! We need to understand the value of the energy we have, of the energy that is our life energy and on what we are waisting it on! If we waste it on un-important stuff, if we spill it around, if we waste our energy on people who don’t deserve it, situations that don’t deserve it, if we waste our life bringing ourselves down, if we waste our energy on stuff we don’t want… We have none left. For the life. Love. For our dreams. For us. For the person we want to be!

  3. I love this post, Iva. Yes, Facebook. The backbone of a lot of friendships these days. We would have forgotten our childhood friends if Facebook didn’t exist😀 The conversation just flows with childhood friends even after we haven’t seen each other in a long time, maybe even years, doesn’t it?

    I love that quote from Albert Einstein❤ The more we follow the crowd, the more we loose our voice and our confidence to be ourselves. So we have to be brave, take the plunge and do what we love doing even if it's very different from others. Sure, the path may be lonely but we can always stop, sit and have a chat with people around us before walking on. We really must not push ourselves at the expense of our physical and emotional needs🙂

    What is success to me? Just being happy with myself and bringing happiness to others.

    • First of all, I love your definition of success🙂
      Yeah, we don’t talk over FB I think she has it opened just for the sake of it she is never there🙂

      The path of different is always lonely but after a while the others look so foolish, running and stumbling over each other on a small path when there is a horizon of meadows to walk on…

      • I feel a lot of my friends just have Fb too for the sake of it…you know what, I think I’m one of those people. Sometimes just opening it up to see what’s going on and then going away…

        Love your words, Iva. I can always count on you for some words of wisdom. Thanks for sharing so honestly🙂

      • I had something about 300 “friends” on FB and I have been very active during college, it’s easier to check everything on fb, and of course, when you need to study everything is more interesting😀 Sometimes I’m there all the time, chatting with friends or bf and sometimes I just go and check. If you have FB you should totally like my FB page IvyMosquito😀

        Now, it depends. I have liked many interesting pages so that keeps me coming back and I have deleted more than 150 people from my list… A cleaning indeed. I deleted not people I don’t know (which are very rare on my list, I think I have 2 or 3 people I haven’t met in person) but the ones that I don’t see hanging out in the future… We might have been ok in one stage of life, but I just don’t have the desire to stay in touch with them. On the other hand, I left people who are positive and bring joy to others even though we know each other less.
        I have a feeling I will have a flood of new friends because I have changed my attitude and I chose my friends based on that🙂

        Hehe, thanks, I don’t consider myself wise but it is very nice to be seen that way❤ I am thinking of changing my avatar since I have short hair few months now which is also purple😀

      • Oh yes. I also feel too that quite a lot of my Fb friends aren’t really friends…like maybe last time I added them after meeting them somewhere and then we never saw each other again. I’ve been too lazy like you to “clean” my Fb friends list, but one day maybe I will.

        Aww, short and purple hair. I can imagine you looking very cool. After all, purple hair is in fashion now😀 I liked your FB IvyMosquito. Now you can like mine @themabelkwong❤

      • Of course, I’m on it😀 Yeah it was a time I really wanted to de-clutter my life🙂
        hihihihi thank you, yes I feel extra cool indeed haha😎

        I had no idea that purple hair is in fashion now, wow I am ahead. Now I’m extra super cool, I don’t know how to deal with this new status…😉 I will definitely change my avatar, I just have to find a will to do it, something I have been lacking recently. I have ideas for DIY and other stuff, but it’s just…so…much…work. I hope that is the autumn negative impact and that I’ll be doing stuff soon.🙂

      • Every time I go out in Melbourne, I will see someone, usually a good-looking female, with dyed purple hair. Its not Cadbury-chocolate wrapper kind of purple, it’s paler than that. So you can call yourself a cool fashionista😀

        I hope you get to de-clutter your life and be very, very happy again. It takes time. Just relax and you will get there🙂

      • Oh I can’t tell you how happy I am now. I am the happiest I have ever been, not including the time when you’re so little you don’t know about life problems🙂 I can’t believe it, I was at phases in my life so sure that that is the way things are going to be and I couldn’t even imagine how it will feel like different. Now not only I feel it, I am in my zone more and more every day, in quality and quantity. It was extremely scary to do this, stop and face everything I had to face when I decided to do it about 2 years ago, but I can not tell how much my life has changed inside and how stronger and more sure of myself I am. It is hard but very rewarding and important❤

        Uuuuu, cool fashionista AND wise. I have no match hahaha😉 I will go even more on the purple palette, now it is dark purple, shining on sun or light.😀

      • I like reading your honest comment about stepping up to change your life and today you find yourself in the zone and so sure of yourself. So I will look up to you, Iva =^^’

        Dark purple. That should be very interesting on you. I think you can pull it off :F

      • Thank you Mabel, you made my day❤ There is no need to looking up, but I love that I can reach to people through this platform and maybe show a different perspective, a point of view that will make you stop and feel more positive, more inspired and more happy in your skin. I would love that!

        I am working on getting my avatar changed in the next few days, lets hope for the best😄

      • I forgot to add earlier: when I come to your blog, I feel very loved. You give away love and comment so nicely to your readers, it’s very hard not to feel positive and be inspired to be a better person😀
        ❤❤❤

      • Awwwww, now you totally got me melting😀❤❤ When i read this kind of stuff my doubts evaporate…😀

Talk to me...

Blog at WordPress.com.

