Soup from Hokkaido Squash

I had to spend 10 minutes on Google because I could not remember from what squash EXACTLY I made this soup from. šŸ™‚ Found. Hokkaido. Fancy.

FotorCreated

I made this few months ago and thank God for the photos coz I couldn’t remember anything other than this squash was so hard to peel and cut I almost broke my knife. I had to chop it like wood, no kidding. šŸ˜€

Ok, the process was easy.

e

After I peeled it and cut into medium pieces I put it in water (enough to cover the squash) and put salt and mix of spices, one or two carrots and one small celery. Then when it all boils, stir until the squash becomes soft.

Then put squash in a blender of any kind with a little bit of water in which it cooked and blend. Place it all in another bowl and add water from where the squash was cooking in the amount you wish your soup to be thick. And that’s it!

FotorCreatedzz

It is delicious. šŸ™‚ I am bringing this to Fiesta Friday at Angie’s as always. ā¤

Categories: Food | Tags: , , , , , , , | 23 Comments

Post navigation

23 thoughts on “Soup from Hokkaido Squash

  1. Wow! The squash is so pretty, Ivy. The soup looks delicious, too. šŸ™‚

  2. I can’t remember the names of all of those squash either. Your soup if a work of art! Just beautiful and I am sure delicious!

    • Me neither, specially because I wasn’t interested in cooking before. šŸ™‚ Thank you very much hehe ^^’

  3. Love your presentation of this delicious soup.

    • Thank you so much… It is sour cream I poured it slowly with spoon so it formed this cute circles. šŸ™‚ Glad you like it. šŸ™‚

  4. What a big bowl of soup and so easy to make. I have never eaten squash before to be honest, I don’t think I’ve seen that veggie in Australia too. This soup sounds like a good and light breakfast soup, a soup that you can eat with bread šŸ™‚

    • It was easy AFTER I peeled it and cut it šŸ˜„ That part is hard and I mean physically hard šŸ˜€
      I never eat something like this also. I have never tried pumpkin soup before this winter and I only tried from a bag bought in store. For me the only squash up until now was a zucchini šŸ˜€

      You know what, I think it would go excellent with bread. We were eating it and going “mmmmm” šŸ˜‰
      What kind of soup do you eat normally in Australia? Do you make it or cook from a bag?

      • Pumpkin soup is delicious! Though I don’t have it too often because I find it hard to carry pumpkins back home (I don’t have a car). My mum likes to cook Chinese soups, like tofu-tomato soup, radish soups. They are very light, almost like water. She’s not a fan of thick soups, but I like all kinds of soups šŸ˜€

        When I make soups I usually cook it from a tin or packet because it’s convenient. But making soups from scratch – now those taste much more better!

      • I agree with you home-made soups are so much tastier ā¤

        I guess it's the effort = tastiness šŸ˜€
        I bet your mums soups are awesome, like my mums, she makes chicken soup from scratch and tomato also. I love although mushroom soup from bag, it's yummy… šŸ™‚
        We can make a philosophy about soups šŸ˜„ What does tofu tastes like? I never tried it.

      • Tofu actually tastes quite plain and actually a lot of them don’t smell. Think of it as eating very soft, smooth, light and mild-tasting cheese. I think you will like it when you try it šŸ˜€

        Agree with you there. The more effort and time we take to boil soups, the tastier they should be. No pain, no gain šŸ˜€

      • Hmmmm… Now I am interested about tofu! šŸ™‚

        And I agree on the last bit haha šŸ˜€

  5. petra08

    It looks delicious! I grew some squashes and had to get my big vegetable cleaver out and really go for it but they were delicious once you could get in to them šŸ™‚

  6. I’m glad you didn’t Google a squash racquet Ivy šŸ˜‰ ā¤

  7. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #46 | The Novice Gardener

  8. Squash is a very hard veggie to cut. I have a special knife and a finger guard – don’t want to lose any fingers. Looks very tasty and some thing warm is perfect to bring to Angie’s party. Happy FF #46 šŸ™‚

    • Thank you for making me feel welcome ā¤ šŸ™‚ Yes that is a smart idea to use different knife hehe šŸ™‚ I will check out other entries later.

  9. looks tasty! šŸ˜‰

    • Thanks! Oh it was…. It was so yummy and I…We have never made something like this in our household so we ate it in one afternoon I think. And it was a lot of it! šŸ™‚ I didn’t need any other compliments. šŸ™‚

Talk to me...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

