How do your pets “behave” during the holidays?

Whether or not you celebrate Christmas on 25th December or on 7th January and New Year on 31 December or Chinese New Year (I don’t know the date), or you don’t celebrate anything religious, there is probably a time in your house when something is happening. Something is celebrated and things aren’t like they are rest of the year. Decorations come up, people are coming and going, there is more action and stuff going on than regular… And our pets get in the middle of all this. πŸ˜€

GIFSec.com

My cat is my only pet so far that I really had. Others were more like neighborhood pets when we kids would take care of some stray cat. Kiki was my first experience with cats + Christmas tree. Hahaha… Well. Lets just say we get presents, Kiki gets the big ass tree in the living room. πŸ˜€

First few years disasters were inevitable. She was playing with ornaments, getting them to fall of, crash few of the balls who left behind that sad silver magic dust of dead Christmas ball… One year she even knocked down the entire tree! πŸ˜€ I don’t know how she did it… But last few years she is showing more interest for the tree itself than the decorations. She had realized that we can’t reach her when she is under the tree so she goes there and munch on it, chewing…well…everything. Us yelling and shoo-ing her away doesn’t do much, she does it anyway when we go to sleep. Like a Santa. A hungry vegetarian Santa who munches on Christmas trees. Now that is a start of a horror movie.

IMG_0025

My attempt of capturing the mischievous rascal today. πŸ™‚

Anyhowdilywho… She is more chill with the whole Christmas season. Except – The New Year’s Eve.

We live in a place where people…how do I say it so it doesn’t sound wrong… Like to shoot things. Fireworks. Firecrackers. Firecrackers in a bottle. Rockets. Anything. As long as it’s loud, we do it. I am saying “we” for the sake of the story I don’t do it. I don’t have the time! I have to watch all the fireworks going on πŸ˜€

620_400_1356934898vatromet

Do not be mistaken – we have an official fireworks going on somewhere in the central square, but we have like thousands of mini fireworks all over the town to gaze upon when the clock hits midnight. For me, that is the best part of New Year’s Eve. For my cat, you guessed right, the worst.

So, we have to take pills from the vet and drug her two times that day so she is a bit sleepy and calmer, otherwise she is hysterical, meowing, panicking and pooping all over the house. It may seem funny but I feel so sorry for her when I see her in such fear. Also, a lot of pets run away, they get scared of the noise. 😦 That is why I am all up for forbidding all the stupid shooting.

Except for the fireworks. πŸ˜€

OK, a little less of the fireworks. Fine.

That actually hurt to write.

Categories: Animals, Column | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “How do your pets “behave” during the holidays?

  1. A great post Ivy. I know my cats love anything new. They will explore it or pat it around the room until boredom sets in and I have to find something new for them to play with. ❀

  2. Hi! I have nominated you for the ‘sisterhood of the world of bloggers award!’ Please check it out here – http://laurensaysitall.com/2015/01/10/sisterhood-of-the-world-of-bloggers-award/ well done! ☺️

  3. sorry, I don’t have one to comment here πŸ˜‰

Talk to me...

Blog at WordPress.com.

