Shhh… Can I tell you a secret?

514_400x400_NoPeel

With Valentine’s Day close I want to talk about it. OK, write about it. ☺

If you didn’t know that Valentine’s Day is this Saturday you probably haven’t open any online media or social network, they tend to go more and more hyper about this day as it approaches. I’m not gonna go in the “hate it or love it” debate, neither I’m gonna say that whether single or in a relationship you don’t need a day to appreciate people you love, and most definitely I won’t say that you as a person are so incredible and enough and whole even tho I mean it. Ops, I said it. 😉

I’m just gonna say something.

Valentine’s Day is like Santa for adults.

It’s made by companies to make us buy more shit stuff.

Lets be honest, if companies could make 10 more “holidays” just to sell specific items – they would do it! They would. Like in that song…

“What’s love gotta do with it, gotta do with it…”

Almost nothing. The thing that is good from it that it is a reminder not to take our loved ones for granted. And also, we all love getting stuff. I know I do. 😀

If you have zero balance on your account but still want to give something to your loved one(s), I will share the pillow I made for my friend’s baby girl. It was the first time I tried this specific sewing method so it turned out GREAT. You can use any fabric you want, as long as it is easy to sew… Oh, and you’re gonna need to cut open a few of your stuffed animals. You’re gonna feel sorry (At least I did) but it’s for the greater good. 😉

FotorCreated

I took a red cotton shirt and cut out the edges. Then I wrote her name following the lines I placed with thin black marker. Then I made the shape of a heart inside out and sew it that way, it just looks better when you do it that way. In the bag next to it on the third photo is my “stuffing”. I left the bottom open, turn the heart on the right side, place the stuffing and then sew the end by hand.

Finished! 🙂 The baby body next to it was the other part of my gift. I decoupaged the lines from my friend’s favorite show The Big Bang Theory. 🙂

20141103_1849f00

Categories: Column, Crafts, Did It Myself other | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Shhh… Can I tell you a secret?

  1. Awww it looks awesome ! ❤

  2. Great job on the pillow Ivy! Hope you are doing well!

  3. I wish I was this creative. If I wrap a gift and it looks half decent I feel like I have accomplished something great, ha!

    • Haha 😀 That is so ok, every one is excellent at something. Promise you won’t feel bad if I post how I wrapped this? 😉 I love DIY, making stuff, decorating… I love it. My sister does not. At all. That is so individual 🙂

  4. AWwww!! I love what you made!! Awesome!!!!

    • 😀 Thank you! It is not perfectly shaped, but it looked better in person than in this photo 🙂 And it was what I wanted to make 🙂

  5. We have Secret Valentine at work this week…. you know, like Secret Santa. We picked names out of a bag and we are supposed to shower that person with love all week. Of course, we will buying little things from the store we work in….. hhmmmm.

    • Hmmmm, first of all, i am very excited that I am right with my theory Santa/Valentine, but you’re also on to your firm… What a schemy little scheme, to make you buy from your store, shame on them, shaaame…
      I am curious, what did you get?

      • an African Violet (on sale at the store) and some Candy Cane cookies that were over ‘best before’ date. I had one bite. yuck.
        It was in a little bag that said I was wonderful! Don’t know who it is. Still two days left…..
        I think my Secret Valentine is wondering if I’m coming on to her.

      • Hahahaha 😀 I actually laughed out loud at your comment 😀
        I have no idea what African Violet is and I’m afraid to ask 😉
        Then I would keep the bag. The bag is a keeper. hehehe
        Why? What did you gave them/her?

  6. I like presents with thought behind it. Well done Ivy ! I also love this clip of Soft Kitty in the BBT. ❤
    .

    .

    • Awww, tbbt!! It’s my favorite TV show that is airing now, I am finally up to its release in USA, I watch it online… Sheldon is…Sheldon 😀 I love it, thank you ❤ Tbbt is also my friend's best TV show and Sheldon is her favorite character, so that's where i got the idea… 🙂

      Thanks for the compliments on my diy pillow 🙂 It is not perfect shape like in a store, but it's from my heart.

      • I must agree with you Ivy. I think TBBT is the best comedy to come out of America for a long time. Well, I did like Friends as well ! 😀

      • Omg, my second thought is them! I love love love them. 😀 I can watch them million times 🙂 Seinfeld was also good. Right now I like tbbt, The Modern Family and Game of Thrones (which have 10 episodes every year)

Talk to me...

Blog at WordPress.com.

