The horror of formatting!

I wanted to make a post (long planned) about a decoration I made from scratch from my idea and I needed photos I took. SD card from my camera was messing with me for a while, I couldn’t get it in the camera, we thought the mechanism broke (oh no) and today we got involved a bit more and really tried to see what is happening. After unsuccessful attempts to make the camera recognize the card, I placed it in the laptop. It recognized it last time but now…nope. “Needs formatting”

tumblr_m3fghoG4711rsttf1o1_500

All Christmas photos, snow photos… Gone. Photos of my decoration…gone. 😦

ec787fa6-e3f4-4456-b577-8f0fdfa457db

I have found a tool online that is supposed to recover your lost files so I am waiting for it to scan everything. Thank God on smartphones! I took a lot of photos with them so now I actually HAVE something to show, not in the quality or the way I wanted, but it is a blog-saver. πŸ™‚

Why am I writing this as a response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Use It or LoseΒ It.”? Because there are SO MUCH worse things than this one – like the terrible illness we went through in January and some difficulties now. That was intense. I am actually thinking of getting a flu shot next winter! Being almost 27 yo! I do not want to go through that kind of hybrid flu ever again. Ever.

Categories: Column, Daily Prompt | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “The horror of formatting!

  1. Pingback: Whoops! Where’s the Woo Woo? | planting healing for planet hope

  2. Oh, Ivy. Hope that online tool thing works and you get to recover your photos. Last year, I was using a dodgy SD card plug-in thing to connect with my computer and it corrupted two of my SD cards 😦 Luckily with the help of an online tool I managed to recover most of the photos. There was a few of them that couldn’t but I was happy to get most of them back. It was a bittersweet day. So these days I only transfer photos to my computer if the SD card is in the camera or phone (connect devices with a USB cord to the computer) or stick the SD card in the SD card slot.

    27 years old is young πŸ˜€

    • I made it, I recovered all of them πŸ˜€
      I usually use a cable, but I admit when I’m in a hurry I don’t and I don’t check the “safely remove” just plug-unplug :/
      I am just happy camera is working after formatting and I got my photos, yay!

      I know, that’s why I emphasized it πŸ˜‰

  3. Oh no ! How annoying. I download my camera pics into my laptop immediately and once used they are filed on a memory stick. I hope you can recover them Iva. xox ❀

Talk to me...

Blog at WordPress.com.

