Uhmmmm… What?

Warning: It is OK and encouraged to laugh at this post. But not too much.

10965548_10152300630744979_1933024538_n

I officially don’t understand this illness.

There, I said it.

I was thinking of doing a list of all things it made me go through – in a kinda pissed off yet humorous way (my favorite kind of way) but the list is getting too long!!

Lets try to crack this mofo down. Symptoms.

Cold; running nose, sore throat, cough, headache, head feels like a balloon and you generally feel like crap.

Flu; Very high temperature, muscle ache, very heavy cough

This illness? BOTH.

I have felt that something is just not right few days after the New Year’s Day. My throat was hurting and I didn’t feel well. Since by that time my sis was few days into a serious illness where she couldn’t swallow from pain and had all of the symptoms of a cold I kinda figured that I got it and went “Oh no. No. Oh no.” in my head. Then mum got it and they both got antibiotics (which are given for the bacterial infections!) and I was still in the Status Quo. Well, few days later no more status quo for me! Muscle ache. Real bad. Cried of pain. (This is supposed to be slightly funny but hey it gets “better”). Luckily found a creme for (against?) pain to massage all over my back. That creme and few others were my new besties.

I was still enthusiastic. Hey I had temperature just over 37 degrees. USA you need to give up the Fahrenheit. OK fine, there: 98.6 F.

But next day. Nope. Not even gonna go there. Temperature close to 39 degrees and over (102.2 F) and in next days going from 37 – 39 in 15-20 minutes. Boy, that was an experience I thought I will never have to get familiar with. This temperature stuff happened more at night so I was alone with my thoughts up until pill for taking down the temperature started working. FUN. Not being able to move because I was too damn cold. I got cramps because I did not want to move until it got hot. Oh, and when it got hot, I was ON THE SUN. My legs were so hot (Amazing start of a sentence in a different occasion) that, and I shit you not, my body hair curled!

aqZZV5p_460sa_v1

I thought (not in one occasion) “Okay I’m gonna die this way.” Not a pleasant thought when you feel like Superman on a bed of Kryptonite. So, you ask me, did I got scared? i have other issues going on with my health and yes, I got super scared! One night I panicked and as I was having a panic attack I started to sweat and I thought to myself “Great, the temperature will go down now.

66068-panic-gif-sgeu

My doctor was a delight and she admitted me without appointment. I was having about 38.5 C at the moment and a kind woman in the waiting room asked me if I was alright. No, kind lady, but thank you, it’s nice to be the sickest at the doctors. It was either my doctor or emergency room. Fortunately she said it was virus-related so I didn’t need antibiotics, told me to drink huge amount of liquids which I already did and keep taking down the temperature.

Speaking about liquids I think I drank liters of tea/juice/water/anything drinkable really in that 5 days as I normally would in like… two months.

I just realized I took you on this painful journey with me. I’m sorry. I will make a virtual cookies. There.

chocolate_chip_cookie_recipe

Where was I? Oh yes… After five days the temperature finally dropped and wasn’t coming back, so I didn’t took a pill for reducing it. Mistake. The temperature that night made a comeback like a band on a concert when you think it’s over but…ei, they they are with one more song! That was the last song of the temperature… SO FAR. I am trying not to jinx myself. So I unknowingly enter phase two of this whatever it is. Recovering.

I was so happy first few days that I wasn’t burning like a hamburger on a barbecue that I haven’t noticed how slowly the recovery goes with this. I am not kidding. I felt like I had 200 kilos and this hippopotamus here needed half a minute to get to the bathroom few feet away. Food – no interest. I thought I had lost weight for sure but I didn’t. I have no idea how. I did eat like small meals and drank a mixture of a lot of fruit and veggies home-made. My sis made a fast recovery but she is not feeling extra well again. My mum and I – we were snails in a snail race. Every day just a lil’ bit faster. So I entered the third phase.

Boredom.

971

I was happy at first that I was bored – you think I would learn with the first wave of happiness. But then I got REALLY bored and low energy so no out of bed. There is only so many things you can do that don’t involve moving or watching TV. I listened to a lot of stand up comedy on my mobile, and even that got boring. Then it hit me all the stuff I was planning to do, and places I wanted to go and how none of that happened… You know, fun stuff again. And after like what it seemed like a lifetime of low energy boredom I entered the phase I am in now. The “What?” phase.

I got enthusiastic about food again. YAY! I also started to feel smells and I can kinda hear again normally (ears got clogged). I can move faster, I can watch at screens more. I can even wash my glass when I put the new tea in! Ha! It’s the small victories that count. It is still weird how slooooooooooow the recovery goes but I have read about something that made me rethink it all and it’s not terrible. It is frustrating, boring, it sucks big time, it is confusing but there are people who have it much worse. Heart shutout to them ❤

The “What?” phase is called like that because I started again to have some of the first symptoms like sore throat, clogged sinuses and headache. I am hoping SO MUCH I am not stuck in a Groundhog illness. Please, oh, please.

Also I got all of your comments which I respond when I feel well enough or bored enough to not care about how I feel. I love them, keep ’em coming! ❤ And speaking of groundhog we are waiting some sort of snow blizzard in Croatia that is supposed to make us go “wow” and “oh no” at the same time. It is snowing as I type and… eh. Who cares. I’m in bed anyway.

p.s. I realized I handled (handling) this like a champ. Very proud. 🙂